MYL in Action: National History Day at Braintree High

lilyblog1by Lily Tang (MYL ’15)

As one of the recipients for the MYL Foundation’s Grant program, I have had the opportunity to pursue my goal for my school. My project is to bring National History Day into my school.

National History Day, or NHD for short, is a yearlong research project and history contest similar to science fair. In 1974, a history professor created NHD because he wanted to provide students with a different, more engaging, way to study and comprehend history- we can all agree that sometimes textbooks just drain all the life out of a subject. Today NHD has affiliations in all 50 states and internationally, too. Each year over half a million students, compete in the Regional, State and National level. NHD allows students to present their projects in different forms such as creating an exhibit, website, documentary, paper or as a performance.

Last year I worked with my school’s Director of Social Studies in order to create the History Club. I was able to recruit four other students to compete in NHD. Our team won first place in the South Shore Regional Contest and placed Honorable Mention in States. This year my goal was to expand the club by promoting it more and making students more aware that this opportunity exists. In addition to the publicity aspect of the club, I had to come up with a way to fund it. The cost of registration and the busses was a huge problem, as I did not want money to prevent students from participating in NHD. As such, I applied for the MYL Foundation’s Grant program.

This year our numbers have doubled and we had 10 participants in the club, and submitted 3 projects: 2 exhibit and 1 website. The Grant program made this year possible because it helped covered the registration cost for the Regional contest. Thanks to the MYL Foundation, our school succeed in the competition- our teams placed 1st and 3rd! It has been an amazing and fulfilling experience for me because first time NHD participants after the contest had came up to me and told me that it was “really fun” and that they would definitely continue it next year!

I am so grateful to the Grant program for giving me this opportunity to spread my love for history to others and to inspire them to create something amazing, too!

Leave a Reply

