8 Questions w/ Cayla Barbour ’09

9113376 We’re helping you get to know our outstanding alumni, one spotlight at a time! In this installment of our new interview series, meet the ever-fabulous Cayla!

Tell us about you!
My name is Cayla Barbour and I am a 2009 MYL Alumna! I’ve been a Junior Facilitator, Junior Board of Directors Member, Make a Difference One Day Conference Co-Char, and Conference Planning Committee Member. I have been the Director of Programming for the MassSTAR Conference for the past 5 years and I love it!

How did you first become involved with the MYL foundation?
I first became involved with the MYL foundation as a the delegate from Coyle and Cassidy High School in the 2009 MassSTAR Conference. I stayed involved by attending the Alumni Association meetings and then applying for the roles I mentioned above as time went on.

What are you up to now?
I currently am interning at the City of Boston Law Department and will be going into my second year at New England Law | Boston this fall!

What emoji best reflects you? 
💃 – its a girl who loves to dance! she looks so E-WORD!

What’s your favorite point of the STAR?
Intentionality – As the Director of Programming, I try very hard to make sure every part of the MassSTAR conference has a purpose from the speakers and workshops to the theme to every cheer. In general, I always try to think critically of the purpose behind my decisions so that I can reflect on why I am making them and improve myself!

What’s your ideal superpower?
Teleportation – I love to travel and punctuality is not my strong suit so I could see the world without the hassle and get to places on time (maybe)!

What does citizenship mean to you?
Citizenship means being a member of the community. We are citizens of the communities we are in – school, town, state, world, etc – and our participation matters to make it great. Citizenship that is empowered to be active is a truly phenomenal force!

Do you have any advice for recent MYL Alumni?
Stay involved with your fellow alumni! At first it was a little difficult to travel to the alumni meetings, but thankfully the MYL community supported me in one small step of carpooling, and the rest of my experience has followed! MYL is like a family and we love to see our newest members at all of the alumni events and keeping in touch with the organization and each other.

Leave a Reply

