8 Questions w/ Irene Wong ’11

We’re helping you get to know our outstanding alumni, one spotlight at a time! This week, find out how many pounds Irene can deadlift (apparently that’s a thing?!)

e4243fbf-5c3e-4431-91bd-8699b4eab2cfWho are you?
My name is Irene and I am an alumna of the 2011 MassSTAR Citizenship Conference. I have previously served as the Eastern Alumni Association President and Junior Board Liaison. In the past, I’ve been on Junior Operations and a Junior Facilitator at MassSTAR and most recently served as a Senior Facilitator.
How did you first become involved with the MYL foundation?
I first became involved immediately after my MassSTAR Conference. We had regularly scheduled Alumni Association meetings and I would attend those and volunteer at MYL Foundation group service projects.

What are you up to now?
Right now I am doing stem cell research at Boston Children’s Hospital for the summer. In the fall I will start my senior year at Brandeis University and begin applying to PhD programs in biomedical science. I’m currently completing my Open Water SCUBA certification this summer!

What’s your hidden talent?
I can wiggle my nostrils! And deadlift over 250lbs.

America runs on Dunkin. I run on____
7 hours of sleep.

Tell us a memorable MassSTAR story?
I remember the time we had boxed lunches for an entire MassSTAR Conference because the cafeteria was under construction. It was an interesting food experience…


If you could travel anywhere RIGHT NOW – where would you go?
If I could travel anywhere right now, I’d go to American Samoa to visit their National Park.


Do you have any advice for recent MYL Alumni?
My advice would be to stay involved. The MYL Foundation provides a massive network of amazing people and the Alumni Association helps you meet alumni from different MassSTAR years. All of our alumni have diverse backgrounds, cool jobs, and community service experiences.

Leave a Reply

