8 Questions w/ Alex Gomez ’10

gomezContinuing our series of “get-to-know-you” interviews with the MYL fam! Alex, surprising exactly no one, provided a Britney Spears gif. In fairness, I did ask for it. 

Who are you?
Alex Gomez ’10

How did you first become involved with the MYL foundation?
I attended the 3 day conference then stayed involved with the Alumni Association, attending meetings and volunteer events. Later I became Alumni Association President and a member of the Conference Planning Committee (CPC).

What do you do now?
Currently I am the Director of Alumni Relations on the MYL Foundation Board of Directors. When not volunteering with MYL Foundation I work at TechBoston Academy in Dorchester working for an Educational Non-Profit called New Classrooms that changes the way Math is taught in Middle Schools around the country. I also work at a public library in Hingham, MA.

What’s your patronus?
A snowy owl. R.I.P. Hedwig

How do you carry the MYL values with you in your work or school?
I’m always reminding myself, in addition to where reminding myself of where I last left my phone, of the importance of intentionality and collaboration. I truly believe that you learn the most from others and their experiences, more than in a lecture or textbook. There’s an infinite wealth of knowledge and experiences out in the world and how I interact with those in school and at work is all rooted in my core belief that the experiences I share and that are shared with me will shape me and those I encounter and work with. I always try and create a community wherever I go, a community of learning, of shared experiences; a community of love for learning and love for other humans that live, have lived, or will live on this planet.

What gif best reflects you?
There are several GIFs out there of Britney Spears making faces during her tenure on America’s Got Talent. Those GIFs are me. I am those GIFs. Here is one of those GIFs.

unnamed

My Idol.

What does it mean to “be a good citizen” to you?
Taking time to actually learn about what’s going on in the world today. Even if it means jumping on buzzfeed or the apple news app and scrolling through the news headlines. It means taking the time to know there are other countries, states, and even neighborhoods in your community that are all going through similar experiences as well as totally different ones. The world is WILD and being a good citizen, to me, means being an active participant in it, always ready to know, learn, experience and grow more.

Do you have any advice for recent MYL Alumni?
Read my answer to the previous question and DO IT. Also, get involved with the MYL Foundation. Help shape the lives of others around you. Take the MYL Foundation values and share them in your community and the communities you explore as you grow in both age and experiences.

Leave a Reply

