8 Questions w/ Renee Semple ’15


sempleContinuing our series of “get-to-know-you” interviews with the MYL fam! This time, we learn what was so funny about Plymouth Rock (I don’t know if I get it.)

Who are you? 

My name is Renee Semple and I’m an alumni from 2015. Since my experience at MassSTAR in 2015 I’ve made sure to keep in touch with the organization; on February 13th, 2016 I attended the one day conference at Brandeis University, on June 2nd, 3rd,4th, and 5th in 2016 I had joined the MassSTAR staff as a junior facilitator, and on June 27th, 2016 I had participated in an MYL Foundation volunteer opportunity where five of us helped clean the Charles River in Newton.

How did you first become involved with the MYL foundation?
I first became involved in the MYL foundation when my high school’s guidance office nominated me to represent Canton High School’s sophomore class in the 2015 MassSTAR Conference.

What emoji best reflects you as a person?
The rock-on/punk hand emoji represents me as a person because I’m always up for adventure and doing new, cool things. I also make that hand gesture a lot ☺

What’s your favorite point of the STAR?
Initiative is my favorite point on the STAR because it’s what helps lead to change; a lot of people have amazing ideas, but only those who take the initiative will ever make change happen.

What does it mean to “be a good citizen” to you?
Being a good citizen means that you’re respectful and helpful. Being respectful can cover a lot of the role of being a good citizen; respect is something that helps us set up the foundations for relationships within the community and those relationships in turn can help toward creating a sense of cooperation that helps the community function as a whole. Being helpful branches out to willingness as well. If you’re helpful and willing, you can give a lot of yourself to your community which can really lead to change.

What’s your favorite holiday?
My favorite holiday is Halloween!! I love horror movies and scary stuff!

Tell us your favorite MassSTAR story!
 My favorite story is from this past conference. I had roomed with my friend Kira, and Kira and I were both junior facilitators. We had this running joke with our friend, Jess, about Plymouth Rock. So, Kira and I decided to gather up stones and put piles in front of the delegates’ doors with little papers that said ‘1620’. Our plan was to shout “PLYMOUTH ROCK” in the morning to help wake up the delegates. But, once morning rolled around, we found our rocks cleaned up and gone. We were devastated. Later on we found out who cleaned them up and discovered that there was a big misunderstanding between us and it ended in a fit of laughter.

Do you have any advice for recent (or not so recent) MYL Alumni?
My advice is this: get involved. Get involved in whatever you can get your hands on, whether it’s through your school, community, MYLF, something you saw on social media, etc. Volunteering is a passion of mine and I’d love it to become a passion of many more people. Giving your time to others is the greatest gift in this world, so I highly encourage alumni to get involved in volunteer opportunities or other community service projects.

Leave a Reply

